“It’s Gonna Be Totally Awesome!”

AVPSSo almost everyone in the universe has used YouTube… Unless you have been living under a rock. But have any of you watched full length movies and shows on them?
My professor this week wants me to write a review about a movie or a CD or something along those lines. The thing is though, I can’t think of any of things relating to my blog topic. Sooooo… What I’ve decided to do is write about a show I have watched on YouTube that I have found helps me when I’m stressed. This I hope gives you readers out there ideas about what you can watch to help with your stress.
AVPMThe show I am talking about is called A Very Potter Musical by Team StarKid. If you don’t know what that is then we are no longer friends. Just kidding. This show is actually the first of three separate, 2 hour each musicals, tastefully spoofing the Harry Potter series. It started at the University of Michigan in 2009 when the theater program wanted to do something different. They literally had no budget and everyone doing it dedicated their time and money to make it happen. They wrote, composed, produced, did absolutely everything for this show. The show was so well received by the students at the school, and they decided to put it up on YouTube. That’s how people like me… With no ties to Michigan at all… Found out about this. And I am so glad I did.
For all of you Glee fans out there, you might recognize the lead role of Harry as none other than Darren Criss, aka Blaine. This is how he got his start. And honestly, the whole cast is going to be famous one day (as if they aren’t already). You will love Joey Richter, Lauren Lopez, Joe Walker, Dylan Saunders, and the rest of the gang.
AVPM2Anyways, back to the actual show. The hilarity of each character and funny musical numbers keep you entranced the whole time. You honestly don’t realize that the show is 2 hours long. By the time it’s over you are pretty bummed. The opening number is called “Goin’ Back To Hogwarts” and that sensation you used to get when you were a kid reading the Harry Potter books or watching the movies all comes back. You get so excited to follow Harry and his friends on this incredible journey. Yes, the musical is different as far as the story line order goes because it needs to be comedic, but it’s still no different then it’s original purpose. The minute you hear Harry sing the line, “No way this year anyone’s gonna die. And it’s gonna be totally awesome”, you know you are in for a treat.
CIMG2062I actually had the chance to interview three of the characters from the show when I was at ComicCon in 2011: Joey Richter (Ron), Brian Rosenthal (Quirrell/Shamus), and Brant Cox (Colin Creevey). They were some of the nicest guys I had ever met and really know how to show the fans how appreciative they are. One fan asked them to grab dinner with them and they made sure they kept their promise that they would. They explained to me in the interview that they did these shows for the fans. They knew they had something when they made the first one, and felt it let them down by not continuing with the others. You have to love watching something that has that much fan love behind it.
AVPM3So if you are in a stress mode and need an outlet try watching something. Heck, try watching this or one of Team StarKid’s other 6 shows online. I won’t be offended if this isn’t your cup of tea though. I just want all the readers out there to know that something as silly and entertaining as this can brighten up a day. So give it a try. Relax. Plop your feet up on the couch. Poor a glass of wine (if you’re 21 I mean). Do whatever it is you need to do to enjoy a show. And don’t forget… “It’s gonna be totally awesome!”

If any of you are fans of these shows, check out the thank you Joey, Brant, and Brian gave to all their fans during my interview with them!

Leave a Reply

