Advice For Going MIA

Before I start, I apologize to my professor who grades this blog. I’m kind of going off the assigned guidelines for this post. Please see future posts for the assignments.

Hello Wonderful Blog Readers!
I am very sorry I have been MIA for the last week or so. A few weeks ago, I had surgery to take care of some problems that I have been dealing with for the last few months and am now doing much better! While I was recovering, and even before the surgery, I fell extremely behind on my school work and couldn’t go to work. This got me thinking about all the other people out there that have had to go through this and how they got through it. I talked to a few of my friends and they really helped me come up with some ideas on how to catch up with life.

Like I said before, the two things I fell extremely behind on… and am currently still behind on… is school work and employment. With school work, I emailed all my professors letting them know about the surgery and how long I would probably be out for. While most of my professors were extremely understanding, there was that one that wasn’t. They didn’t understand how I couldn’t just do my work from home and email it in. I explained I was on massive pain killers before and after the procedure, but they still had issues. I had no idea what to do. That’s where my friends came in. They were absolutely amazing. A few of them would sit with me and help me do my work… even while I was in a Vicodin induced haze. Yes, an assignment that should have only taken 10 minutes took us 3 hours… but it got done. They helped me with everything from coming up with a topic… to actually typing it up for me as I relayed what I wanted written. The work was 100% mine, but I couldn’t have made it happen without them.

As far as the employment goes, hopefully you have a very understanding boss like I do at my two jobs at the university. My surgery was on a Thursday, but had to start my bed rest the Monday before. I knew about the surgery a little over a week before it happened, and so my boss let me add some extra hours to my schedule before my bed rest started. This really helped me out because with bed rest and recovery time, I was going to be missing about two weeks of work. That’s almost impossible to make work financially when you have rent and bills to pay.

Because of that one professor, there were days I had to be on campus for that class even when I was suppose to be at home recovering. To help me out, my boyfriend drove me to and from campus, but sometimes he would be late getting me. Not his fault, he had school too. When that happened, I would go to the office of the on campus TV studio I work at and hang out there. If I had the strength, I would set up some microphones or push the record button on the tape deck, and my boss would count it towards my hours. I technically was working. Those are things that get done at my job, he just let me do them instead of someone else. He also didn’t push me more than I could handle. It may have only been 15 minutes that would be put on my time sheet, but it was there. Every minute I worked helped me make up the hours I was missing. I am extremely grateful for that boss and what he did for me.

I guess the advice I have for all my readers out there who have been through something like this is to keep the lines of communication open. I was so worried about what my boss and professors would say about missing so much, but they were more understanding then I could have ever imagined… Well most of them. Also, ask your friends for help. Yes they have lives too. But if they are really your friends, they will find a way to help you out.

Leave a Reply

