Stuck at a Crossroad

work_life_balance_sign
I know this photo is nothing exciting, but it seemed interesting to me. I found this photo on a blog called Inspired Wellness, and when I saw it, I was like “this isn’t me because my life balances school”. The thing is though, life and home are things you need to balance as well. I live with my incredibly supportive boyfriend who knows first hand how crazy my schedule can get. But… as much as I hate to admit it… there are times I don’t think about how my lifestyle effects him. When I come home late at night, he will have dinner on the stove, the house will be cleaned, and our pet bunny (who I consider to be like my child) will be fed. I always say thank you… my parents taught me my manners… but sometimes it’s just a natural response. I don’t always say it from the heart because I am so focused on what else I have to do that day. I hate myself for that just thinking about it.

However, he says he understands because he knows I’m doing all of this for us. I want a life for us. We like having a roof over our head and food in our belly’s. But I can’t forget that he is something I need to balance in my life as well. I also need to remember that he works two jobs (one of which is the US Army) and goes to school as well… and still has time to make sure my life is easier. It’s hard to remember that when you’re stressing out, sometimes you need to stop, breath, and say thank you with meaning behind it. I realize now that a thank you with no meaning is like not getting one at all.

This photo shows the hardship of having to balance everything. Much like my banner photo, you’re standing at a crossroads and you’re not sure which one to go down. This situation reminds me of Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken. The final lines are:

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

Sometimes going down the road you forget about… in my case that’s my home life with my boyfriend… will surprise you. Every time he surprises me with anything, a big smile comes on my face and for even just a moment, I forget about how tough my life can get.

While I realize at the end of writing this post that now I have three things to balance… school, work, and my personal life… I’m not going to stress out. I am going to breath and make sure that my support system gets the support he deserves. Without him, my lifestyle would be impossible to manage. Maybe I can wake up early and make him breakfast one morning… just to show how much he means to me.

So I ask the other people out there that are going through the same things, what do you do to make sure your support system knows you care? I know everyone has different ideas and I would love to hear them.

One thought on “Stuck at a Crossroad

  1. I completely agree! I find myself getting completely focused on one thing in my life and forgetting about the other important things in my life. It becomes hard at times, but like you said your boyfriend is supportive and that’s awesome! just make sure to take a little time out of the day to make sure to let the people you care about know you still care, even if you’re time is being occupied by other things a lot of the time!

Leave a Reply

